What Inspired Me To Write, The Crooked Path.

Some may wonder what prompted me to write The Crooked Path, so I decided to share with you what inspired me.   First off, if someone had told me twenty years ago that I would be writing books, I probably would have laughed.  Not that I would have wanted to come off as being rude or arrogant, but in all honesty, back then I didn’t see myself writing books.  Although, I must confess that I have always had a very vivid imagination.  (That can be both good and bad.)  I honestly believe that everyone has a story to tell.  However, some people can express their thoughts better on paper, and some express their thoughts better verbally.   I just happen to be one of those who is able to express my thoughts best on paper.   Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy having fun, interacting, fellowshipping…etc., etc., with people.  But man, I tell ya, I can get totally lost in my own world when I write.  Anyway, enough about that.  Back to what inspired me to write my first novel.

I guess that it’s been about twelve years ago that I was speaking at a Ladies conference when I expressed a very deep thought.  (But we won’t go into the deep thought.)   Afterwards, a lady at the conference asked me if I had ever thought about writing a book.  I was totally taken by her question, and my immediate thought was… (I could never write a book.)   Out of respect I didn’t laugh in her face… with her being my elder and all.  However, I did tuck the thought away in my heart.  And eleven years later, God began to tug at my heart to write a book.  At that particular time, I had a complete different title and story in mind.  So, after weeks of God dealing with my heart and probing my mind, on approximately the first week of April 2012, I sat behind my PC and started writing.  The rest is history.   I completed The Crooked Path in five months.

In closing, I would like to say that I personally believe we have hidden treasures locked up in our inner being.  (Our soul.)  And, it’s up to us to tap into those hidden treasures.  Never, ever, give up on your dreams.  If God has given you a story to write, go for it, even if it takes you years to complete the manuscript.  But, don’t give up because the best is yet to come.

Until next time,

Melinda, (Mindy)

Romans 8:28

 

Leave a Reply

