Women In The Ministry.

Today I felt impressed by the Lord to talk a little about women in the ministry. I realize this is a very controversial topic, and I want to assure you that I by no means desire to push my beliefs. I simply feel that it’s a very important topic that needs to be addressed periodically. I thought maybe we could look at how God used Deborah in Judges Chapters four and five.
There is no disputing that Deborah was used mightily by God as a great leader; however, she displayed the spirit of a humble servant. She was handpicked by God to be a Judge over the nation of Israel, and she was used as a prophetess.

According to Strong’s number 8199, the word “judge,” means to: Vindicate, Judge, Punish, Govern, Litigate, Defend, Plead, Reason, and Rule. Wow! Sounds to me like God entrusted her with a pretty powerful position.
What I have learned over the years is that many people do not study the Hebrew and Greek in the Bible. In the Holy Bible, the Old Testament words were written in the Hebrew and the New Testament words in the Greek. So, since we are talking about an Old Testament character, we will go into the Hebrew meaning for Prophetess: Nebiah: Female Preacher. Young’s Analytical Page 781.

The Bible tells us in Joel 2:28-29; And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions: And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit. KJV
One can plainly see that God spoke out of His servant prophetically concerning the great outpouring of His Spirit, and that God included both genders. Some would try to say that God only used women in the Old Testament for a special purpose in leadership. However, there are many women that God used in the New Testament. Philip had four daughters that prophesied. Acts 21:9; And the same man had four daughters, virgins, which did prophesy. KJV

The Greek meaning for prophesy in Strong’s number 4395 is: Profateyoo: To foretell events, divine, speak under inspiration. Arndt & Gingrich Lexicon Page 730: To proclaim a divine revelation. Young’s Analytical-Page 779: Publicly expound.
Next week, we will talk about one of the most misunderstood scriptures in the Bible. (Notice that I used the word “one”.)

Esther, one of the prominent characters in my Novel, The Crooked Path, is the pastor of a nondenominational Christian church. In the book you can read about the many challenges that she faces, and how she copes. What I love the most about Esther is that she is 100% woman. She is not portrayed as being manly, but she is very much a feminine godly lady. I believe that God can use women in leadership; however, we must always remember that no matter how God chooses to use us, we should always act like a woman.
Until next time,
Melinda, (Mindy)
Romans 8:28

One thought on “Women In The Ministry.

Leave a Reply

