Aside

What Law?

Wow, what a busy week that I have had! I must say that the spiritual retreat was wonderful, but it’s good to be home. I promised you that we would cover some very tuff…controversial scriptures in the Bible. So, put your thinking cap on and allow God’s Spirit to do the leading as we talk a little bit about, 1 Corinthians 14:34-36.
1 Corinthians 14:34-36– Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law. And if they will learn any thing, let them ask their husbands at home: for it is a shame for women to speak in the church. What? came the word of God out from you? or came it unto you only? KJV
I have heard it taught that the women in the church of Corinth were very unruly and disobedient, which is why Paul had to address the issue of women keeping silent in the church. And I agree with this teaching to some degree. However, there is so much more to these particular scriptures. Notice that Paul indicated that they were to be under obedience, as also saith the law. Well, one could take that particular point to back up the teaching that they were indeed unruly in the church. However, for the next few weeks, I would like to dig a little deeper on this subject. I guess one could say, dissect these scriptures. The Bible teaches us to study line upon line and percept upon percept. The Bible also teaches that God’s people perish because of lack of knowledge. But, then on the other hand, the Bible tells us that in the last days that knowledge would increase. Well, with technology rapidly advancing, head knowledge has increased tremendously. However, many people lack Biblical knowledge. I realize that these scriptures are so very controversial, which is why I desire to go slow.
There is one question that I would like for you to mediate on while we study these scriptures. What law was Paul speaking of?
Lord willing, next week we will cover some of the different laws in the Bible that was governed by man. It is my deepest prayer that this study will help you in your spiritual growth and give you better understanding. I pray that God will use this Bible study as a tool to make you more productive in helping others to understand these scriptures.
Until next week,
Melinda, (Mindy)
Romans 8:28

2 thoughts on “What Law?

  1. awesome awesome…. so enjoyed this… what a beautiful and wonderful truth that we all need to take hold of… I was deeply stirred and moved by this topic and what you shared… this topic has a very special meaning to me. Thanks so much for delving into it and giving it such grace and knowledge. Blessings to you. Love you my dear friend.

    • melindajabersold says:

      Hello my dear sister,

      I have missed you!!! I pray that all is going well for you and your family. I thank you so very much for the words of encouragement. I can see that God has gifted you with the spirit of consolation. Oh, how we need more people like you in the church…smile.

      I love you bunches and please pray for me as I pray for you.

      Sister Melinda…<3

Leave a Reply

