Women in the Ministry . . .

Greetings in the wonderful name of Jesus! I pray that you have had a blessed week in the Lord, and that the blessing of God will continue to follow you. This week we are going to complete our Bible study on (What Law?). I have enjoyed digging in God’s Word, percept upon percept and line upon line. Without further ado, let’s get into the Word of God, I have lots to layout.
Our focus verse: 1 Corinthian 14:34—Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience, as also saith the law.
Our big question is what Law was Paul speaking about? I would like to say that God will never, ever contradict His Holy Word. In our previous studies, I shared with you how God used women throughout the Bible for His glory. So, please know that I’m not trying to promote women preachers, pastors, etc. But, I simply want to share with you what the Lord had revealed to me, and He used a highly anointed man of God to do so. When I attended Bible College, I took a course called Women in the Ministry, and I must confess, it changed my view on women being used by God.
Everything about God is balanced, and He leaves nothing undone or incomplete. He has given us the Holy Bible to teach us and instruct us in everyday living. If we should start to feel a little out of balance, all we have to do is go to the Word of God, and receive an alignment . . . LOL!
God is just as concerned about the home as He is the church. In fact, He instituted the family before He did the church. I have often heard it said, “If the family falls, so will the church”. Common sense tells us that the church is made up of families.
Let’s see what the next verse tells us in 1 Corinthians.
1 Corinthians 14:35–And if they will learn any thing, let them ask their husbands at home: for it is a shame for women to speak in the church.
Now, this scripture could back up the theory that many teach that the women were so unruly that Paul had to harshly rebuke them by commanding that they all remain silent in the church. However, these scriptures go much deeper than that theory. I can remember listening to preachers teach this theory when I was a babe in the Lord. I always felt like there was a very important factor missing. I guess one could say, it was a big piece from the beautiful puzzle that was laid out before me. I might add that at this particular stage of my spiritual growth, I was running form the call that God had placed on my life. I honestly believe that I ran because I was looking for the missing piece of the puzzle. But, that’s a whole other story in itself. I might share it one day . . . *smile.
Let’s take a look at the next scripture: 1 Corinthians 14:36– What? came the word of God out from you? or came it unto you only?
Do you see how Paul came back with questions? What? Came the word of God out from you? Or came it unto you only? Now to me, that sounds like a straight forward rebuke. I challenge you to study Romans chapter 16. Paul mentions many women who worked with him in the ministry. In fact, let’s look at Romans 16:1-6.
Rom 16:1-6—I commend unto you Phebe our sister, which is a servant of the church which is at Cenchrea: 2 That ye receive her in the Lord, as becometh saints, and that ye assist her in whatsoever business she hath need of you: for she hath been a succourer of many, and of myself also. 3 Greet Priscilla and Aquila my helpers in Christ Jesus: 4 Who have for my life laid down their own necks: unto whom not only I give thanks, but also all the churches of the Gentiles. 5 Likewise greet the church that is in their house. Salute my wellbeloved Epaenetus, who is the firstfruits of Achaia unto Christ. 6 Greet Mary, who bestowed much labour on us.
One can plainly see that Phebe was in leadership. The word succourer means: Leader. Paul also mentions Priscilla and Aquila, but note that Paul mentions Priscilla before Aquila. In that day, it was customary that the leader is mentioned first. Whatever the case may be, they had a church in their home, and no doubt they worked together as a team. Notice that Paul took the time to mention how hard that Mary labored for the service of the ministry. There are indeed others mentioned in Romans chapter 16, but I think that I have clearly made my point.
So, what law was Paul speaking of? I’m going to share with you from the Babylonian and Jewish Talmud’s. I have many that I could share, but I will only share a few in this study. (Blog)
A woman should not read her Bible for the Honor of the synagogue. It is better to have the role of the law burned than to have it read to women. The testimony of 100 women is not equal to that of one man. The witness oath applies to men, not women. A man’s corpse may be laid in the street over which to hold a funeral oration, but over a women’s dead body need not be troubled. Take it off to the cemetery and get it over with quickly. A woman must not be counted with ten men to make a congregation. It is a SHAME for a woman to let her voice to be heard among men.
-The Jewish Talmud-
“A woman is not to come forward to read (from the Torah, the law). Whoever teaches his daughter the Torah is like one who teaches her obscenity. Rather should the words of the Torah be burned than entrusted to a woman. One must not be served by a woman.”
-Rabbi Eliezer
“Do not converse much with women, as this will ultimately lead you to unchastity.”
-Babylonian Talmud-
Berakhoth 24a
“A woman should not show herself off like a vagrant in the streets before the eyes of other men, except when she has to go to the temple, and even then she should take pains to go, not when the market is full but when most people have gone home.”
-Babylonian Talmud-
Mishnsh Kethuboth 6, 6

Wow! That was tuff . . . even for me to type! One can plainly see the hatred toward women in these Talmud’s. I want to take the time to reiterate that I’m not advocating that women walk around usurping authority over men. I believe that God is order, and He has given us guidelines how we are to operate in the gifts of the Spirit.
What Paul was dealing with was a prejudice spirit in the church of Corinth that was trying to stifle the Word of God. We need to take into account that the children of Israel were held in captivity to the Babylonians for many years, and their forefathers picked up many of their religious beliefs. In essence, what the church was doing was teaching the Jewish and Babylonian Talmud’s, which explains why we couldn’t find what law Paul was speaking of. I might add that they did not exclude the Bible; however, their main teaching came from these Talmud’s.
Now, going back to God being just as concerned for the natural (Home), as He is for the spiritual (Church). We must understand the guidelines that God has laid for both. Let’s first look at the natural, since God first instituted the family.
Gen 3:16—Unto the woman he said, I will greatly multiply thy sorrow and thy conception; in sorrow thou shalt bring forth children; and thy desire shall be to thy husband, and he shall rule over thee.
Because of sin, the Lord spoke judgment upon mankind, and one can see that God placed order in the home of Adam and Eve.
1 Tim 2:12-15–But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. 13 For Adam was first formed, then Eve. 14 And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression. 15 Notwithstanding she shall be saved in childbearing, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety.
Paul was reinforcing God’s original order for the home. I would like to say that if we women don’t live according to the Holy scriptures in the home, God will note bless us spiritually.
1 Peter 3:1– Likewise, ye wives, be in subjection to your own husbands; that, if any obey not the word, they also may without the word be won by the conversation of the wives;
Now, submission is powerful, and we women need to do our best to submit according to the Word of God. God will never expect us to submit to anything that is unholy, ungodly, or outside of His Word. God looks at submission completely through the eyes of His Word. We all have only one Master, and His name is Jesus. We are not called to be slaves or doormats to men. However, God plainly states that the husbands are to love their wives. Even as what?
Eph 5:25—Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it;
As Christ loved the church. He gave himself freely to the church, which is what God expects from His men.
Now, let’s look at the church, (Spiritual).
Joel 2:28-29–And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions: 29 And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.
Acts 2:16-18–16 But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel; 17 And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams: 18 And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my Spirit; and they shall prophesy:
Gal 3:28-29–28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus. 29 And if ye be Christ’s, then are ye Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.
One can plainly see that God made it clear that we are all one (equal) in Christ Jesus. The curse of sin has been destroyed through the blood that Jesus shed at Calvary. What the first man, Adam, couldn’t do, the second man, Jesus, accomplished.
Well, I think that I just about covered the basics of the topic, Women in the Ministry. There’s a lot more that I could go over, but for the sake of time we will stop.
It’s my deepest prayer that this study has blessed you as much as it blessed me. Soon, we will start a study on the Spiritual gifts.
Numbers 6:24-26– The LORD bless thee, and keep thee: 25 The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: 26 The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.

Until next time,
Melinda (Mindy)
Romans 8:28
P.S. Pastor Melinda J. Abersold
*smile

4 thoughts on “Women in the Ministry . . .

    • melindajabersold says:

      Hello,
      Yes, I believe that God is fair and loving to all people; however, not all people will respond to His fairness and love. I know sometimes it seems that God is not fair, but we must remember that He has given all of us a free will, and it’s up to us to receive His grace, mercy, and love. It is not the will of God that one soul should perish, but that all should come to a place of repentance. But as I said, God will not force Himself on us . . . we must freely surrender our will over to His perfect plan. Jesus is that perfect plan that God has provided for mankind to be reconciled back to the relationship that God intended mankind to have in the beginning, before sin entered into the heart of man. I do pray that this has answered your question. God bless! 😉

Leave a Reply

