2 Chronicles 7:14

God spoke to King Solomon in 2 Chronicles 7:14 after the dedication of the temple, and King Solomon’s prayer to God. The Lord appeared to King Solomon by night letting him know he heard his prayer. I would like to break this scripture down, and elaborate some on it.
If my people, which are called by my name: To whom, was God referring to when he said, My people? The Bible tells us in, Ezekiel 18:4, Behold, all souls are mine; as the soul of the father, so also the soul of the son is mine; the soul that sinneth, it shall die.
God has always desired a people who would live a holy separate life for him. God desires a people who will be willing to serve him with a pure heart, commune with him daily, and submit to his perfect will. Even though all souls belong to God, not every soul is married to Him.
In the days of King Solomon, God’s glory dwelt in a temple made by man. Today however, God desires to dwell on the inside of his people. The Bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 6:14-18, Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers; for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? And what communion hath light with darkness? And what concord hath Christ with Belial? Or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel? And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? For ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God and they shall be my people. Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord; and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you. The soul that sinneth will be cut off from the living God.
What is his Name? In the Old Testament he is known by many different names; such as Elohim, Adoni, Yahweh, Jehovah, Yeshua, and I Am. However, under the dispensation known as grace, he is known as Jesus; the Je stands for Jehovah, and the sus stands for Yeshua, meaning God has become our salvation. Acts 4:12, Neither is there salvation in any other; for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved. Colossians 3:17, And whatsoever ye do in word or in deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him. God’s people are a people who have repented of their sins, been baptized in the name of Jesus Christ, and filled with his Spirit.
If my people, which are called by name, shall humble themselves: I suppose King Solomon’s father, King David, comes to my mind when I think of a humble heart. Even though he failed God because of the weakness of his flesh, he understood the beauty of repentance. It was very evident King David had a true relationship with God, and knew how to touch the heart of God. In fact he is known as a man after God’s own heart. When King David committed adultery with Bath-sheba and was confronted with his sin, he was quick to cry out for the mercies of God. The Bible tells us in Psalm 51:10-11, Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. If there has ever been an hour God’s people need to be humble, this is the hour. The Bible tells us in Proverbs 11:2, When pride cometh, then cometh shame: but with the lowly is wisdom. One must not forget it was pride that caused Satan to fall, and it is pride that will cause many to fall today. How we need to ask God to keep us humble under his mighty hand.
If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray: Prayer is the most powerful weapon we have, we find more strength on our knees than we do from any other source. Gods ears are in tune to his people when they spend time talking to him in prayer. When one reads about the life of the Lord Jesus, you would find that he spent a lot of time talking to the Father in prayer. He prayed that the bitter cup might pass from him. The Bible tells in Mark 14:36, And he said, Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me; nevertheless not what I will, but what thou wilt. He took Peter, James and, John with him to watch and pray for one hour; but they slumbered and slept. In Mark 14:38, the Bible tells us, The Lord spoke and, said; Watch ye and pray, lest ye enter into temptation. The spirit truly is ready, but the flesh is weak. The Bible instructs us to always pray, and faint not. When one stops praying they fall into the temptations of the flesh. We must be very careful that we not allow ourselves to become so busy that we do not have time to spend alone in prayer.
If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face: My how we need to get back to the days of old, and begin to seek the face of God. Our elders knew how to tarry under the hand of God, and they did not stop seeking until they entered into the glory of God. Our Lord Jesus desires a people who are willing to make the personal sacrifice of seeking him, even if it means in the late night hours or early morning hours, but not many are willing to pay such a price.
People are seeking peace in this world we live in today. The Bible tells us in Jeremiah 29:11-13, For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. It takes searching, and seeking God to obtain the peace he has promised us. We live in a microwave generation where everyone wants it now! We must not forget God’s ways are not our ways and his thoughts are not our thoughts. Sometimes we have to wait, and keep Asking, Seeking, and Knocking. The Bible tells us in Isaiah 55:6-7, Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near: Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.
If my people, which are called by name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and forgive their sin: My how God’s people need to turn from their wicked ways. True repentance needs to come back to the household of God, and the true conviction of God needs to grip the hearts of God’s people again. One must not forget it’s the little foxes that spoil the vine; however, in the past ten years I have seen a lot of little foxes creep into the household of God. The Bible tells us a little leaven leaveneth the whole lump. How we need to ask the Lord to purge out the old leaven, and make us a new lump. What we do in moderation this generation, will be done to the extreme the next generation. God has charged us to keep the fire of the Holy Ghost alive, and burning in our hearts; however, the fire will not burn in an unclean temple.
The Bible tells us in 2 Corinthians 7:1, Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God. How we need the fear of God to get back into our hearts, and that will only happen by a divine revolution. We need to cry out to God and ask him to search me. O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23,24. Many people are deceived because of lack of honesty with God and themselves. We must never trust our own heart for the Bible tells us in Jeremiah 17:9, The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it? The Vines Dictionary tells us the meaning for heart in the Hebrew is leb, which means, a man’s will or intellect. How we need to surrender our will over to God. The Bible tells us in Psalm51:17, The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken, and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise. It’s when we truly cry out to God with a broken heart, that he begins to bring restoration, and forgives us for our sins. It’s so wonderful to know that they are removed from us as far as the east is from the west.
If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and heal their land: My how the dry barren land of our nation needs healing! Just recently a tornado sweep through my hometown, and within a matter of minutes there was complete destruction. Nine lives were taken that day, eight of which were high school students. Countless people are without homes, and their hearts completely broken. In all of my years of living, I have never seen such great destruction. There were cars turned upside down, trees up rooted, and electric lines down everywhere. It was only by the mercies of God that more lives were not taken on that horrific day.
It should be every child of God’s prayer that our land be healed, and the rivers of God cleanse our nation. God-fearing people who paid a great price for our freedom founded our nation. The Bible tells us in Joel 2:12-14, Therefore also now, saith the Lord, turn ye even to me with all your heart, and with fasting, and with weeping, and with mourning; And rend your heart, and not your garments, and turn unto the Lord your God; for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness, and repenteth him of the evil. Who knoweth if he will return and repent, and leave a blessing behind him; even a meat offering and a drink offering unto the Lord your God?
We need times of restoration from God as the Bible tells us in Joel 2:25, And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten, the cankerworm, and the caterpillar, and the palmerworm, my great army which I sent among you. This is a promise God has given us, if we as his people would only do what he has asked us in 2 Chronicles 7:14. I believe we need to take heed to the cry of the Lord, even as the Bible tells us in Jeremiah 22:29, O earth, earth, earth, hear the word of the Lord. Truly Jesus is coming back soon and He will have a glorious church. The Bible tells us in Ephesians 5:27, That he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.
The Lord made another promise to King Solomon, which can be found in 2 Chronicles 7: 15-16, Now mine eyes shall be open, and mine ears attent unto the prayer that is made in this place. For now have I chosen and sanctified this house, that my name may be there for ever; and mine eyes and mine heart shall be there perpetually. Many people have denied His name, but we as Apostolic’ have not. Therefore, we are the chosen church that our Lord is looking down upon, and His ears are attentive to our prayers. It is so comforting to know that His heart will be with us perpetually, which means He will never leave us or forsake us. The Bible tells us in 1 Peter 3:12, For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers; but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil.
One can read what happened after Solomon finished his prayer in 2 Chronicles 7:1-2, Now when Solomon had made an end of praying, the fire came down from heaven, and consumed the burnt offering, and the sacrifices; and the glory of the Lord filled the house. And the priests could not enter into the house of the Lord, because the glory of the lord had filled the Lord’s house. How we need the fire of the Holy Ghost to come down, and receive our sacrifice of prayer unto God. We need the glory of God to dwell in our temples so thick that nothing unclean would be able to enter in. I ‘m not trying to advocate that we should be so spiritually minded, that we are no earthly good. I believe God desires that we live a balanced life. We cannot be productive in His Kingdom if we do not go out into the harvest field amongst the lost souls.
In closing, I believe God is calling his people to rededicate their temples back to His Holy Service. The Bible tells us in Revelation 3:20-22, Behold, I stand at the door, and knock; if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcome, and am set down with my Father in his throne. He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches. Friend, time is winding up, there is destruction in the land, and God is waving His Mighty Hand!

Until next time,
Pastor Melinda
Romans 8:28

One thought on “2 Chronicles 7:14

Leave a Reply

