When the Almighty Called Me!

 

Who, Me God?

Melinda J. Abersold

 

Have you ever wondered what it is like to be a woman pastor?  Don’t feel bad if you haven’t because I never really gave it much thought, until God called me into the ministry.  When God called me, my immediate thought was, I can’t be a pastor . . . I’m a woman!  So, needless to say, I ran from the call.  However, God used male pastors to confirm that I was indeed called into the pastoral vocation.

So, I set out on my quest to confront my pastor; however, God instructed me to wait.  So, I waited, and I waited, until finally, God spoke to me to attend another church so I could sit under a more seasoned pastor.  I was so excited to finally start getting this show on the road!  Well, needless to say, the pastor God placed me under did not encourage women to operate in a pastoral office.  During that time, God taught me the ancient lesson on obedience.

There are several women in the Bible that God called for a divine purpose, such as Deborah.  There is no disputing that Deborah was used mightily by God as a great leader.  She was handpicked by God to be a Judge over the nation of Israel, and she was used as a prophetess.

Some would try to say that God only used women in the Old Testament for a special purpose in leadership.  However, there are many women that God used in the New Testament.  Philip had four daughters that prophesied.  (Acts 21:9)

It is clear, throughout the ages of time, God used women in leadership.  However, it is also clear that in this modern day world, in which we live, women have been discriminated against in the ministry.  I can only speak from personal experience that this is a heartbreaking fact. I can also say with confidence that God has equipped me with His strength and grace to fulfill my calling.

I have been pastoring for eleven years, and I have found it to be both challenging and fulfilling.  Have there been times that I wanted to throw in the towel and run?  Yes, you better believe it!  However, my God has richly rewarded me for my obedience.

I believe wholeheartedly that we women pastors should always conduct ourselves as a lady.  In fact, God will not bless a woman who tries to operate like a man.  May I say that God was not at all muddled when He fashioned us as women, nor was He confused when He called us into the ministry.  Always be the beautiful godly woman that God has called you to be.

I leave you with this thought.  Never try to force your ministry into fruition.  Throughout the years, God has been faithful.  Over the next year, I plan to share with you, the reader, my personal experiences.

Leave a Reply

